Crisis Residential

These are water colors I did when I was in a crisis residential unit. If I can get myself to do art when I feel bad it really helps to get some of the feelings out. Crisis units are good because they don’t treat you like criminals, understandably, because it’s a lower level of care than inpatient at a hospital. They put you in a safe environment that is somewhat restricted and take you at your word that you’re not going to murder yourself with a fork or some other benign object. The best part, I think, is that you get to go outside.

I think it’s important that people know about the option of crisis residential units in their community because, certainly for me, there have been times I felt scared for my safety but would rather risk it than go inpatient where you are often manhandled and humiliated. With the volume of seriously ill patients who may be dangerous to themselves I understand it’s not possible for inpatient hospitals to give much attention to individuals. The crisis units I’ve visited were in houses in residential areas and so can only hold 6-8 people at a time. There is more access to craft supplies and media. You need a referral from a doctor, but I believe you can ask to be placed in one at the emergency room. Keep this in mind if you’re scared for your life but also scared to go to inpatient.

I found these pictures up in my old room as I am cleaning it out to possibly make way for a tenant. They are a good reminder at a time when I’m feeling vulnerable of the things I enjoy, and how far I’ve come.

Don’t forget to art.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Daisy says:

    Your arts are so cute. Your spirit is beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Camille W says:

    Thanks Daisy ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

